Butter Garlic Prawn

img_20161123_1935591

Prawns are my favourite for ever

If there was prawn in the table, my mother never had to worry about who will finish the dinner first…me or my sis. Even now when we are in any sea food restaurant, I cannot resist asking for a prawn based dish…its been a constant favourite for many years. I even feel restless if I have not stuffed our refrigerator with some varieties of prawn during our weekly visit to the wet market or super market.

Generally for starter based recipes, I like using the frozen variety and for main dishes the fresh ones. There is no particular reason behind it, it’s just that I don’t like spending loads of time preparing any starters and frozen ones come pre-cleaned and are slightly faster to cook .

My page for sure will have more prawn based recipes in future. Lets begin with this quick and easy starter that can be paired with your choicest poison 🙂

Recipe

Ingredients

  • 300 to 500 gms of prawns. Cleaned and deveined
  • 2/3 Tbs ginger garlic paste
  • Salt as per taste
  • Pepper as per taste
  • 1 tsp parsley fresh or dried
  • 1 tsp chili flakes
  • Lemon juice
  • 1/4 tsp granulated sugar
  • Milk
  • 2 Tbs corn flour
  • 3 Tbs spoon of butter
  • 2 Tbs spoon of olive oil

Process

  • Put butter and olive oil in a skillet
  • Put ginger garlic paste and give it a good stir
  • Add sugar, salt and pepper
  • Add the prawns
  • Let it cook for 4/5 mins a low flame
  • Mix milk and corn flour together
  • Once the prawn is closed to done put the milk and corn flour mixture and give it a good stir
  • Switch off the flame
  • Add parsley and chili flakes
  • Add Lemon juice
  • Garnish with lemon wedges

Please note:

I am not a recipe driven cook most of my recipes are based on intuition and hence its difficult for me to give exact measurements. I have tried to give as much as I could.

I have used normal table butter. I use pinch of sugar to get away from the slightly bitter taste of Ginger/garlic. You may want to skip that. I squeeze one half of a lemon but it depends on your taste how much you would like to add.

Leave a Reply

